Religious Education


The RE Department at Churchmead School follows the Berkshire agreed Syllabus for Religious Education.

In Year 7 & 8, students develop their knowledge and understanding of the six major world religions and also begin to explore key issues that will begin to prepare them for the GCSE course. These two academic years aim to support students to develop their sense of identity and belonging. The subject content also helps to enhance their awareness and understanding of religions and beliefs.

Topics studied:

Year 7

·         Introduction to the six major world religions

·         Christianity

·         Islam

·         Hinduism

Year 8

·         Inspirational people

·         Sikhism

·         The Holocaust

·         Buddhism



Churchmead students begin their GCSE course in Year 9. Over the three academic years students study a variety of topics. Students gain a Full Course GCSE and students are entered for the examinations at the end of Year 11. Students follow the AQA Religious Studies A syllabus.

Students will study a Full Course GCSE in Religious Studies.


·         The units provide students the opportunities to develop their knowledge, skills and understanding of religion by exploring philosophical and moral religious questions that challenge believers and non-believers

·         Students will be encouraged to think and discuss different religious and moral questions as well as reflecting on their own beliefs

·         Students will have opportunities to debate and articulate their beliefs and opinions.

·         Over the course students will be able to critically analyse texts, religious sources and develop their written examination technique


The content is divided into two exam papers. Please see below.

Component 1: The study of religions: Beliefs, teachings and practices

Students will study beliefs, teachings and practices from two of the following religions:

•      Christianity (compulsory)

•      Buddhism

•      Hinduism

•      Islam

•      Judaism

•      Sikhism

Component 2: Thematic studies: Religious, philosophical and ethical studies themes:

Students will study four of the following themes.

Theme A: Relationships and families

Theme B: Religion and life

Theme C: The existence of God and revelation

Theme D: Religion, peace and conflict

Theme E: Religion, crime and punishment

Theme F: Religion, human rights and social justice

Examination board: AQA (Religious Studies A)

Mode of Assessment: Two written examinations (1 hour and 45 minutes each